Latest News

The Ripon Advance: House Energy & Commerce Committee Republican leaders support FCC’s 5G Upgrade Order

f t # e
Washington, June 3, 2020 | comments

U.S. House Energy and Commerce (E&C) Committee Republican leaders this week expressed support for the 5G Upgrade Order, which the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) will consider during its open meeting on June 9.

“During these unprecedented times, connectivity has remained a key component to supporting the economy, providing access to telehealth services, and facilitating distance learning,” wrote the members in a June 1 letter sent to FCC Chairman Ajit Pai. “As the wireless industry continues to make upgrades to its networks, promote competition, and roll out new 5G services, this order marks the next major step that the commission can take to promote broadband buildout across our great country.”

The letter was signed by House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Greg Walden (R-OR); E&C Communications and Technology Subcommittee Ranking Member Bob Latta (R-OH); E&C Energy Subcommittee Ranking Member Fred Upton (R-MI); E&C Environment and Climate Change Subcommittee Ranking Member John Shimkus (R-IL); E&C Health Subcommittee Ranking Member Michael Burgess (R-TX); E&C Consumer Protection and Commerce Subcommittee Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA); and 17 other GOP members who serve on the House E&C Committee, including U.S. Reps. Steve Scalise (R-LA), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Billy Long (R-MO), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Bill Flores (R-TX), Susan Brooks (R-IN), and Buddy Carter (R-GA).

“Wireless providers are moving to win a global race to deploy advanced 5G networks so it is time for the commission to revisit these rules and to find ways to speed 5G deployment,” the lawmakers wrote. “This proposed order would provide needed guidance and clarity that will help our communities benefit from greater connectivity and keep innovation in America.”

The original article can be found on The Ripon Advance website here.
f t # e

Office Locations

Select the office you wish to contact.
Washington, D.C.
Washington, DC Office
Ottawa District Office
Ottawa District Office
Watseka District Office
Wateska District Office