Press Releases

House China Task Force Offers Assistance to President Biden to Tackle China Challenge

f t # e
Washington, DC, February 23, 2021 | Maura Gillespie (202-225-3635) | comments

WASHINGTON, DC – Earlier this month, President Biden announced the formation of a Defense Department task force to address the China challenge. In response, the House China Task Force, formed last year, reached out to the president and his task force to offer their assistance. The House China Task Force released a report last year with more than 400 policy recommendations for how to confront the generational threat posed by China. 

“Addressing the generational threat posed by the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) is not a Republican issue or a Democrat issue – it’s an American issue,” the lawmakers wrote“And we stand ready to work with you to hold them accountable for their malign actions. Our report, which was released last September included more than 400 policy recommendations on how the U.S. can better combat the threat of the CCP. Two-thirds of the legislative recommendations were bipartisan, and overall, more than a quarter of the recommendations have already become law or have been implemented by the previous administration. Our hope is this report will serve as an action plan that will help shape America’s foreign policy toward China for years to come –and also as a guide for the DoD’s China Task Force. “

The letter was also sent to Secretary of State Antony Blinken, National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan, Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin, Assistant to the Secretary of Defense Ely Ratner, Secretary of Treasury Janet Yellen, and Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas. 

The lawmakers who sent the letter are:

Kevin McCarthy, Republican Leader

Michael McCaul, Chairman

Adam Kinzinger

Andy Barr

Chris Stewart

Elise Stefanik

Darin LaHood

Jim Banks

Liz Cheney

John Curtis

Mike Gallagher

Anthony Gonzalez

John Joyce

Guy Reschenthaler

Michael Waltz

The full text of the letter can be found here 
f t # e

Office Locations

Select the office you wish to contact.
Washington, D.C.
Washington, DC Office
Ottawa District Office
Ottawa District Office
Watseka District Office
Wateska District Office
Rockford District Office
  • 725 N. Lyford Road, Suite 3 Rockford, IL 61107
  • P: (815) 708-8032
  • Meetings by appointment
Rockford District Office